READY FOR SOME GOOD NEWS? (Psalm 118:8-9)

Good Evening!

I’ll get right to the point tonight!  I had chemo #4 today, and I met with my oncologist to review my PET scan results.  The results show that all of the tumors that were originally found on scanning in July are now completely gone.  In addition, there are no new areas of cancer anywhere in my body (I had a full body scan).  To sum it up, it was a normal PET scan!!  All I can say is praise the faithful, wonderful, awesome God that we serve!  I could never find the words to adequately praise Him (although I’ve been trying all day)!

When I told Marv, he said “the election results don’t seem so important to me now”!  While we both realize that the election results will of course impact our lives, we also see a bigger picture that has to do with our intimacy with the God of the universe who is always available to us personally.  That personal relationship with Him has never changed and will never change.  My good news today reminded me that in the Psalms we are told that “It is better to put confidence in the Lord than to put confidence in man.  It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes” (Psalm118:8-9).  The Psalms are full of verses that tell us to trust in the Lord.  Prior to this election, we prayed.  On November 6th, we voted.  Now it’s time to renew our minds with the Word of God and walk in trusting obedience, whether we personally like the outcome of the election or not.  In fact, now would be a perfect time for us to read through the Psalms again and note every verse that gives us all the benefits of trusting in God!

So, for me now, I will take the next two chemo’s (the last one being on December 19) because I am grateful that I have access to what the mind of man has discovered in cancer research.  Chemo is not easy and I can think of endless things that I would rather be doing besides being in the process of treating cancer, but I have to say that doing so has opened me up to learning more and more about the faithfulness of God.  There is more to come, as after completing my remaining treatments here in Hot Springs, I will have another scan and a bone marrow biopsy to confirm that I am in total remission.  Then, the plan is for me to  proceed to the next step of  having an autogenic stem cell trasplant, probably in early February as this way of approaching lymphoma is proving to be the best way to prevent it from recurring.  That means I will need to spend 4 to 6 weeks in a hospital in Dallas undergoing a rigorous course of treatment.  My doctor strongly recommends that I do this, but I will have to be accepted into the progam for it to happen. Whether or not it actually takes place is totally in God’s hands.  I’m continuing to trust that every step in this journey is entirely under His control!

Stay tuned for more news!  No matter what happens, since He is the author of all good things, it promises to be good!

Love and Blessings,              Joy

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “READY FOR SOME GOOD NEWS? (Psalm 118:8-9)

  1. Carolyn & Conley Henderson says:

    Praise God!! We are rejoicing with you. Conley & Carolyn

  2. Sue Rupp says:

    And when you are completely healed you must continue on with this blog! It’s such a breath of fresh air, light in the darkness, encouragement to all who read it! While I certainly am not happy about the illness you are fighting, I CAN say that you are touching lives with your insights, your comments, and yes, even your grumblings (few as they are!) You are a true woman of faith conducting bible study right here for all the world to see! Thanks, Joy, for living up to your name and for lifting up those of us who are complacent, those who are struggling, those who are just trying to get through life! Hugs and prayers to you and Marv!

Leave a Reply

