YOUR PRAYERS ARE POWERFUL

Hello Everyone!

I’m happy to report that as of yesterday, I have completed three of the six chemo treatments that make up my initial course of treatment.  And even better, I’m feeling good today!  And better yet was the news that I got from my oncologist before I took my treatment yesterday, so read on!

The GREAT news is that tests indicate that my bone marrow, which is the source of this type of cancer, has “kicked in” and is producing good, new, healthy cells.  This is a major turn-around in that (1) it indicates that treatments are reaching the source of the cancer and (2) it is happening quickly.  My hemoglobin (a major indicator of things going in the right direction) is now in the normal range, and that hasn’t happened since it took a downward plunge last March.  This was unexpected progress!  I will have more blood work next week followed by a PET scan which will show how much the tumors have shrunk since I started treatment.  My doc said that he expects they have shrunk considerably and he wants the scan for reference to see how far we’ve actually come.

Needless to say, I am very grateful, and I know that this rapid progress has everything to do with all of you who are covering me in prayer.  James 5:16 says in part, “…The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available (dynamic in its working).” (Amplified Bible).  So many of you have assured me over and over that you are praying for me daily and words cannot express my appreciation.  I am humbled by your continuous love and support as I face this formidible enemy, and I know that the battle is being waged through your prayers.

I recently called my Pastor and asked him to get the Elders of our church together to pray for me according to James 5:14 which gives instruction on what to do when we as Christians face illness.  It says there that the Elders should anoint the sick person with oil and pray.  My Pastor arranged for that to be done in the context of our morning worship service last Sunday, and it was a very powerful time.  As I sat there being prayed for I could almost see all of your prayers converging upon me.  I don’t pretend to understand all of the dynamics of prayer,  but I do know that I laid hold of every prayer promise in scripture in that moment and my hope and faith was restored.  It was just three days and a blood test later that we got the good news of my great improvement, and I know that was no coincidence.  Prayer is powerful, and the Word of God can be trusted!

Again, I can’t thank you all enough for continued prayer.  It has and will continue to carry me as there is no way I could do this without you.

Love and Blessings,              Joy

2 comments on “YOUR PRAYERS ARE POWERFUL

  1. Carolyn & Conley Henderson says:

    What wonderful news!! Our God is faithful to care for His children. Thank you for letting us know. We love you and will continue to lift you to the Father. Carolyn & Conley

  2. Nancy Anderson says:

    This is my response to rhus glorious news: Check out this video on YouTube:

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

