WHAT A WEEK!

Hello Everyone!

Just a short post tonight at the end of what has been a very tough week.  Last Saturday evening, after a relatively good three days immediately post chemo, I took a nosedive.  It began with  a sudden high fever and chills and ended up with a hospital stay lasting until the following Thursday which has left me feeling very week and drained.  If you called or contacted me during that time I’m sorry that you probably didn’t get an acknowledgement as I was just too sick to respond.    It turns out that I had an infection which started in my infusa-port (through which I was getting chemo) and ended up in my bloodstream.  It took a load of IV antibiotics and more blood transfusions but the good news is that I am feeling much better after having the “port” removed.  On top of it all, I have a head cold that has left me with a cough which doesn’t allow me talk for any length of time!

I’m feeling so cut off from civilization right now and am missing all of you.  THANKS so much for the continued cards and messages that have taken away some of the loneliness.  In all my time in nursing  I’ve never been sick enough to realize just how isolating a few days of illness can feel.  I can’t imagine how people go through weeks and month in the isolation of illness.  My step-daughter, Jenni, arrived today from San Diego for a few days stay and it is so good to have her here!  She’s one of those people who carriens lots of sunshine with her in her personality!

I just wanted you all to know that I am alive and kicking even though my “kick” is still a little weak!    I have several days now to recoop fully before my next chemo (October 16)  and I’ll be in touch again soon.  Have a blessed Sunday.  I’m going to do my best to get to church tomorrow and am looking forward to it with great anticipation!

Love and Blessings,                 Joy

 

 

3 comments on “WHAT A WEEK!

  1. Chris says:

    So sorry to hear about your difficulties. I am praying and thinking about you, Joy. I’m so glad you have a step-daughter who can bring a little sunshine.

    God’s blessings…

    • joymcartor says:

      Hi Chris! Thanks so much for your prayers and for your replies. Last week was scarey, but I am so much better now that it can only by God’s healing power manifesting! Say “hi” to everyone there – I miss all of you. In Him Joy

      >________________________________

  2. Nancy Anderson says:

    I rejoice with you that you’ve overcome the hurdles with the second chemo shot. The Lord truly undertook for you, and I give Him praise along with you. I’m thrilled to hear that Jenni’s come to visit. That’s such an answer. Once again you and I seem to be on a similar track. I too have keenly been pricked with loneliness, as I make time alone with the Lord and prayer a priority. I know I am where I’m supposed to be, focusing on Him, but nonetheless the loneliness I suppose is a part of the sanctifying work of the Holy Spirit. Just another momentary light affliction that we slough off for the far greater weight of glory dear friend.

Leave a Reply

