First Chemo Today- “God is our (my) refuge and our (my) strength”! Psalm 46:1

It was  a long day of treatment involvoing 4 separate IV chemo drugs one right after the other over 8 hours.  Before I went into the chemo suite  my doc explained that in this protocol, they start with the highest possible dose of each drugs and would only back off on the doses if I wasn’t able to tolerate them (which often happens).  The very good news is that I was able to tolerate all of them at full dosage!  Now, I won’t say that I don’t feel like I’ve been hit by a very large truck tonight – mostly just body aches all over.  I have been able to eat and drink and keep everything down due to the wonder of new drugs to control that sort of thing.

Last week as I was thinking about all that was to come, I opened two different resouces, one an e-mail that I receive daily and one a daily devotional book.  Both resources talked about the “gift of fragility” that we are given at those times when we ourselves have no strength of our own.  I found a new place of rest and peace that day, and the more I meditated on what had been given me,  I thought of the wonder of Psalm 46:1 where God promises to BE our strength – not just GIVE us strength.  Today I  had to surrender my physical strength to Him.  I’ve always been pretty much a “can do” type person, and consequently carried a lot on my shoulders.  God  certainly worked with me today on giving new meaning to resting in Him and enjoying the knowledge that He is my strength.

Again, I know that the outcome today could have been much different if I didn’t have the tremendous prayer covering that I know all of you are providing.  I am so very, very grateful.  Thanks also for all the cards, words of encouragement, and offers of help that have come from you.  What a reflection of the love of God that you have been to Marv and me!    I also have my on site trooper in Marv who hung in at my side me all day.   Precious gifts, all of you.

I forgot to mention in previous posts that there is box you can check on this page that will let you know when I release a new post.  Be sure to set that up if you want to do so.  Also,  if you know someone who you think might benefit from this blog, feel free to send the link that I sent you via e-mail.  Love and Blessings!                                          Joy

 

 

4 comments on “First Chemo Today- “God is our (my) refuge and our (my) strength”! Psalm 46:1

  1. Tara Johnson says:

    Dearest Joy! How many times in the past 15 years I have thought about you. I am still SO grateful for all you did to help when Aaron was born… ok! 16 years ago! LOL

    I am greatly saddened to hear about your ‘new journey’ through my sister. I will most certainly keep you in my prayers and Marv, too!

    I will send more later but for now…. I’m crying, actually! Prayers for strength and a miraculous healing!

  2. Jerry Partlow says:

    Hi Joy, Just a note to say that I am traveling this path with you every day. I am reading “Strength” scripture and came across this one that is especially true for now.

    Isaiah 40:28-31 Have you not known? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary,and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

    Joy, in a strange way, this process that you are going through seems to be strengthening my faith or at least showing me how to face really tough things in my life, through Christ and faith in His strength.

    Love Jerry

    • joymcartor says:

      Hi! Great to hear from you! THANKS for the scripture and your comments. I posted tonight – it’s the first time since treatment since I’ve felt like getting back to it! When I have the breath and strength to talk more, I will call you. Right now I’m still waiting for the blood transfusions to kick in. I’m so encouraged that you are finding faith and strengh in the Word just now. There’s nothing like it, and I’m convinced we can’t live without it! Love you bunches, Joy

Leave a Reply

