Joy In The Journey

Getting my feet wet in the world of blogging is not the only thing that is taking me into uncharted waters these days! Let me explain, but first I want to thank my dear Jenni (McArtor) for setting up this blog for me. She is such a talented graphic artist and established the whole thing for me.

A new phase of my life’s journey began in late in July when I was referred to a Hematologist by my primary care physician. Some routine lab work had revealed that I was anemic along with some other things that needed investigation. I was thinking along the lines of “I guess I need to eat more red meat” when I met with the Hematologist/Oncologist. I certainly wasn’t thinking of anything more serious than that and I felt fine.

To make a long story short, I had more blood work which led to a bone marrow biopsy which led to CT scans and PET scans which skidded into the diagnosis of Mantle-Cell Lymphoma which dramatically changed my day to day life. Information hog that I am, I began to read everything I could get my hands on regarding this diagnosis, most of which was shocking. Words like “agressive” along with phrases like “survival rate- 2 to 4 years” slung me in all directions. After talking with my doctor on Monday and getting a treatment plan going, I’ve felt better able to breath.

I will start chemotherapy on September 5, moving toward getting me ready for a stem cell transplant (using my own ramped up stem cells) later in the fall. I’ll have to go to either Dallas or Houston for the transplant, but that is down the road a little bit.

More important than all of that, (I won’t bore you with the groundwork info again) has been my absolute humbling by the outpouring of love and support that I have recieved from all of you. I am overwhelmed by your caring, especially in the area of committing to pray for me. I say that because above all else I have experienced the peace of God which surpasses all my understanding. I have no illlusions about my own strength having anything to do with getting through this cancer process, consequently, He has been speaking to me continually through His precious Word regarding His strength,love and care which will accomplish that. I have been aware of His nearness in a way that is beyond my ability to express, but I do want to try to share some of it with you as my primary prayer is that God be glorified through my situation.

I will let this serve as an introduction and hope to will fill in blanks as I go along. The facts of my treatment are pretty cut and dried, but the work God is doing in my spirit by His Holy Spirit is deep and will take some time to develope into words that may be worth something to someone else. I am holding on to so many wonderful scriptures, but the one that seems to prevail at the moment is Psalm 13:6 which says:

“I will sing to the Lord, for He has dealt bountifully with me!”

May my song reflect His song as the journey goes along! Love to you all, Joy

2 comments on “Joy In The Journey

  1. Ilene Wieder says:

    Joy, My thoughts and prayers are with you during this difficult time in your life. I enjoyed reding the blog and do want you to continue to post. Perhaps we never talked about it as roommattes, but God will care for you and he will sustain you. I will be praying for you tomorrow as you begin treatment.
    Ilene Wieder

    • joymcartor says:

      Thanks so much, Ilene. I think of you often and our St. Luke’s days together! Yesterdays treatment was successful in that I was able to tolerate the full blast of the protocol. Had a rough night, but feeling much better today. I appreciate your prayers more than I can tell you.

Leave a Reply

